Alabama’s Capital City has the distinction of being the “Cradle of the Confederacy” as well as the “Birthplace of Civil Rights.” Since 1817, Alabama has had five capitals. The territorial capital was Saint Stephens, located in southwest Alabama. This served as the temporary seat of government, hosting two sessions of the territorial legislature. In accordance with the enabling act for statehood, the first Constitutional Convention assembled in the North Alabama town of Huntsville in 1819, where the first session of the General Assembly was held in the same year. Cahawba was chosen by the territorial legislature as the temporary capital, with the 1825-26 legislature deciding on Tuscaloosa as the new capital. learn more